Haitian Relief Fundraising Concert in Albany, this Friday

What: DBR & The Mission Fundraiser for Haitian Earthquake Relief Effort When: Friday, January 22,  at 8PM
How Much: $24 Adults and $12 College students and Children
Where: The Egg  (Downtown Albany)

Daniel Bernard Roumain, AKA DBR, is a composer and violinist who creates innovative, thematic works inspired by European classical music, rock and hip-hop. The centerpiece of the concert will be “A Civil Rights Reader” – musical portraits of Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., Maya Angelou, and Rosa Parks – performed by Earl Maneein (violin), Jessie Reagen (cello), Matthew Szemela (violin), and Jon Weber (viola).

A Haitian-American, Daniel Bernard Roumain has joined forces with The Egg to direct profits from the performance to the William J. Clinton Foundation which has organized a major effort to help the people of Haiti respond and recover from the recent earthquake.

This from Daniel: “At this moment, in this desperate hour, I am overwhelmed with grief for all of those lost, suffering, and struggling with the realities of this deepening disaster. I’m not at all certain what my response should be, and I’m gripped by a feeling of helplessness. I am determined to do all that I can for my Haitian brothers and sisters, and I’m grateful that the Albany community is joining me in this journey of hope towards Haiti’s recovery and rebirth. This concert is a march towards the reconstruction and resurrection of that island-nation, one that has given me so much while never asking for anything in return.

“We will rebuild, we must rebuild, and in doing so, we begin the process of helping and healing those who now need us the most. Nothing is as powerful as the will of a nation to survive, the strength of people to believe, and the miracle of the individual boldly acting towards world-wide change.”

For more information and to purchase tickets Click HERE.